Dear Senators…

Canada’s antiquated political system lacks much in the way of democratic protection.

When cursed with a majority government, there is little that can be done to prevent our government from passing bad laws.

There is only a single legal power to prevent the House of Commons from passing laws that are detrimental to the public good: the Senate.

I’m planning to write more about this later (just now I’m getting ready to go bang a pot at City Hall) but the meanwhile you can find out more about the Senate here, and the Senators here.
Write and tell them why the Omnibudget (Bill C-38) and the “Copyright Modernization Act” (Bill C-11) should not be made into law.

Contact the Senate

Senator Raynell Andreychuk andrer@sen.parl.gc.ca Saskatchewan (Conservative)
Senator W. David Angus anguswd@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Alma, (Conservative)
Senator Salma Ataullahjan atauls@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Toronto, (Conservative)
Senator George Bakerbakerg@sen.parl.gc.ca Newfoundland and Labrador (Liberal)
Senator Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu boisvp@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ La Salle, (Conservative)
Senator David Braley braled@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario, (Conservative)
Senator Patrick Brazeau brazep@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Repentigny, (Conservative)
Senator Bert Brown brownb@sen.parl.gc.ca Alberta (Conservative)
Senator JoAnne L. Buth buthjo@sen.parl.gc.ca Manitoba (Conservative)
Senator Catherine S. Callbeck callbc@sen.parl.gc.ca Prince Edward Island (Liberal)
Senator Larry W. Campbell campbel@sen.parl.gc.ca British Columbia (Liberal)
Senator Claude Carignan carigc@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Mille Isles, (Conservative)
Senator Andrée Champagne champa@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Grandville, (Conservative)
Senator Maria Chaput chapum@sen.parl.gc.ca Manitoba (Liberal)
Senator Marie-P. Charette-Poulin poulim@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Northern Ontario (Liberal)
Senator Ethel M. Cochrane cochre@sen.parl.gc.ca Newfoundland and Labrador (Conservative)
Senator Gerald J. Comeau comeag@sen.parl.gc.ca Nova Scotia (Conservative)
Senator Anne C. Cools coolsa@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Toronto Centre-York (Independent)
Senator Jane Cordy cordyj@sen.parl.gc.ca Nova Scotia (Liberal)
Senator James S. Cowan cowanj@sen.parl.gc.ca Nova Scotia (Liberal)
Senator Jean-Guy Dagenais meredd@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Victoria (Conservative)
Senator Roméo Dallaire langd@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Gulf (Liberal)
Senator Dennis Dawson dawsod@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Lauzon (Liberal)
Senator Joseph A. Daydayja@sen.parl.gc.ca New Brunswick ~ Saint John-Kennebecasis (Liberal)
Senator Pierre De Bané debanp@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ De la Vallière (Liberal)
Senator Jacques Demers tessil@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Rigaud (Conservative)
Senator Consiglio Di Nino dininc@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario (Conservative)
Senator Percy E. Downepdowne@sen.parl.gc.ca Prince Edward Island ~ Charlottetown (Liberal)
Senator Norman E. Doyledoylen@sen.parl.gc.ca Newfoundland and Labrador (Conservative)
Senator Michael Duffy mikeduffy@sen.parl.gc.ca Prince Edward Island ~ Cavendish (Conservative)
Senator Lillian Eva Dyck dyckli@sen.parl.gc.ca Saskatchewan (Liberal)
Senator Nicole Eaton eatonn@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario (Conservative)
Senator Art Eggleton egglea@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario (Liberal)
Senator Joyce Fairbairn fairbj@sen.parl.gc.ca Alberta ~ Lethbridge (Liberal)
Senator Doug Finley finled@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario-South Coast (Conservative H)
Senator Suzanne Fortin-Duplessis fortis@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Rougemont (Conservative)
Senator Joan Fraser frasej@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ De Lorimier (Liberal)
Senator Linda Frum fruml@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario (Conservative)
Senator George Furey fureyg@sen.parl.gc.ca Newfoundland and Labrador (Liberal)
Senator Irving Gerstein greens@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario (Conservative)
Senator Stephen Greene greens@sen.parl.gc.ca Nova Scotia ~ Halifax-The Citadel (Conservative)
Senator Mac Harb harbm@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario (Liberal)
Senator Céline Hervieux-Payettehervic@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec~ Bedford (Liberal)
Senator Leo Housakos lacomd@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Wellington (Conservative)
Senator Elizabeth Hubley hublee@sen.parl.gc.ca Prince Edward Island (Liberal)
Senator Mobina S.B. Jaffer jaffem@sen.parl.gc.ca British Columbia (Liberal)
Senator Janis G. Johnsonjohnsj@sen.parl.gc.ca Manitoba (Conservative)
Senator Serge Joyal joyals@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Kennebec (Liberal)
Senator Colin Kenny kennyco@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Rideau (Liberal)
Senator Noël A. Kinsella kinsen@sen.parl.gc.ca New Brunswick ~ Fredericton-York-Sunbury (Conservative)
Senator Daniel Lang langd@sen.parl.gc.ca Yukon (Conservative)
Senator Marjory LeBreton lebrem@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario (Conservative)
Senator Sandra M. Lovelace Nicholas losier@sen.parl.gc.ca New Brunswick (Liberal)

Senator Michael L. MacDonald requires contact via website form Call 613-995-1866 or 1-800-267-7362 or Fax: 613-995-1853

Senator Frank W. Mahovlich smithc@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Toronto (Liberal)
Senator Ghislain Maltais mahovf@sen.parl.gc.ca
Senator maltag@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Shawinegan Québec (Conservative)
Senator Fabian Manning mannif@sen.parl.gc.ca Newfoundland and Labrador (Conservative)
Senator Elizabeth (Beth) Marshall marshe@sen.parl.gc.ca Newfoundland and Labrador (Conservative)
Senator Yonah Martin martin@sen.parl.gc.ca British Columbia (Conservative)
Senator Paul J. Massicotte massip@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ De Lanaudière (Liberal)
Senator Elaine McCoy mccoye@sen.parl.gc.ca Alberta (Progressive Conservative )
Senator Terry M. Mercer mercet@sen.parl.gc.ca Nova Scotia ~ Northend Halifax (Liberal)
Senator Pana Merchant merchp@sen.parl.gc.ca Saskatchewan ( Liberal)
Senator Don Meredith meredd@sen.parl.gc.ca
Ontario (Conservative)
Senator Grant Mitchell mitchg@sen.parl.gc.ca Alberta (Liberal)
Senator Percy Mockler mocklp@sen.parl.gc.ca New Brunswick (Conservative)
Senator Wilfred P. Moore moorew@sen.parl.gc.ca Stanhope St. / South Shore (Liberal)
Senator Jim Munson munsoj@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Ottawa / Rideau Canal (Liberal)
Senator Nancy Ruth mcgeed@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Cluny (Conservative)
Senator Richard Neufeld neufer@sen.parl.gc.ca British Columbia (Conservative)
Senator Pierre Claude Nolin nolinp@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ De Salaberry (Conservative)
Senator Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie ogilvk@sen.parl.gc.ca Nova Scotia ~ Annapolis Valley-Hants (Conservative)
Senator Donald H. Oliver olived@sen.parl.gc.ca Nova Scotia ~ South Shore (Conservative)
Senator Dennis Glen Patterson patted@sen.parl.gc.ca Nunavut (Conservative)
Senator Robert W. Peterson russem@sen.parl.gc.ca Saskatchewan (Liberal)
Senator Donald Neil Plett plettd@sen.parl.gc.ca Manitoba ~ Landmark (Conservative)
Senator Rose-May Poirier poirir@sen.parl.gc.ca New Brunswick ~ Saint-Louis-de-Kent (Conservative)
Senator Vivienne Poy poyv@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Toronto (Liberal)
Senator Nancy Greene Raine rainen@sen.parl.gc.ca British Columbia ~ Thompson-Okanagan-Kootenay (Conservative)
Senator Pierrette Ringuette ringup@sen.parl.gc.ca New Brunswick (Liberal)
Senator Michel Rivard rivarm@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ The Laurentides (Conservative)
Senator Jean-Claude Rivest jcrivest@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Stadacona (Independent)
Senator Fernand Robichaud runcib@sen.parl.gc.ca New Brunswick (Liberal)
Senator Bob Runciman kfl@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes (Conservative)
Senator Hugh Segal seidmj@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Kingston-Frontenac-Leeds (Conservative)
Senator Judith Seidman setha@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ De la Durantaye (Conservative)
Senator Asha Seth sibnic@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario (Conservative)
Senator Nick G. Sibbeston smithd@sen.parl.gc.ca Northwest Territories (Liberal)
Senator David P. Smith stgerg@sen.parl.gc.ca Ontario ~ Cobourg (Liberal)

Senator Larry Smith Québec ~ Saurel (Conservative) has no email *or* web page
613-996-8555 or 1-800-267-7362 ~ Fax: 613-996-8565 [see below for something to try]

Senator Gerry St. Germain stgerg@sen.parl.gc.ca British Columbia ~ Langley-Pemberton-Whistler (Conservative)
Senator Carolyn Stewart Olsen stewac@sen.parl.gc.ca New Brunswick (Conservative)
Senator Terry Stratton stratt@sen.parl.gc.ca Manitoba ~ Red River (Conservative)
Senator Claudette Tardif tardic@sen.parl.gc.ca Alberta (Liberal)
Senator David Tkachuk tkachd@sen.parl.gc.ca Saskatchewan (Conservative)
Senator Betty E. Unger ungerbe@sen.parl.gc.ca Alberta (Conservative)
Senator Josée Verner vernej@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Montarville (Conservative)
Senator John D. Wallace wallaj@sen.parl.gc.ca New Brunswick ~ Rothesay (Conservative)
Senator Pamela Wallin wallinp@sen.parl.gc.ca Saskatchewan (Conservative)
Senator Charlie Watt wattc@sen.parl.gc.ca Québec ~ Inkerman (Liberal)
Senator Vernon White whitev@sen.parl.gc.ca
Senator Rod A. A. Zimmer zimmer@sen.parl.gc.ca Manitoba (Liberal)

Fax Alternative

Every Senator has a fax number, so for the Senators who have unpublished email addresses, we can try to email a fax using a free online service like TPC fax service

For Senator Larry Smith type the following as the addressee:

remote-printer.Senator_Smith@16139968565.iddd.tpc.int

If you prefer this email-fax solution to an online web form, you can do the same for Senator Michael L. MacDonald

remote-printer.Senator_MacDonald@16139951853.iddd.tpc.int

a horizontal border of red graphic maple leaves

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s