voting for a Liberal leader

banner at the front of the room at the electoral reform debate

Step #1: Sign Up

Remember when I encouraged you to sign up to vote for the Liberal leader? Well, if you did, now it’s time for the next part: Now you need to register.   [I’ll have “Why I’m a “Liberal Party of Canada” Supporter” online by tomorrow.]

Step #2: Register

If you haven’t registered by March 21st, you don’t get to vote.  [The deadline to register was Thursday, March 15th but there has been a one time only extension to Thursday March 21st, 2013.]  Good thing, too, considering I’m only writing this now.

If you’ve signed up, you should have received an email from the Liberal Party’s Matt Certosimo telling you how to register, and providing you with the specific link to the online registration form. It wouldn’t help for me to share my  link I got, it was only good for me.

If you haven’t received an email, check your spam bucket. If your let your email provider decide what is spam for you, chances are the email has been blocked. What you can do instead is go to http://www.liberal.ca/leadership-2013/registration-help/ and ask for another one.

When you register you confirm:

  • Your wish to participate in the vote for the new Leader of the Liberal Party of Canada;
  • Your proper contact information so we can send you your ballot; and
  • That you meet the requirements to participate, and that the information you provide is true.

Confirmation

I tried regiistering on March 15th, (the original deadline) but the online form didn’t work.

I filled in all the information, it got to “submit” but there was no confirmation.

I sent an email to the link provided but got no reply.  I thought it might be a problem because I use free software, or perhaps something was hung up by AdBlock or NoScript. Perhaps their website was overwhelmed by the volume of last minute responses.  Whatever the problem was, the submit swirlie kept swirling, but didn’t give any conformation that it went through or not.

I tried again and again but nothing worked, so I left my computer on and went to bed. When it was still trying to submit the next morning I was afraid I’d blown my opportunity to register to vote.

Then I got an email about the deadline extension, so I gave it another try. This time I used the Chromium browser instead of Firefox and it worked immediately. It would have been super annoying if it hadn’t.

Your registration was received. Thank you. No further action is required from you at this time. After your registration is approved:     You will receive a voting PIN between March 25 and April 6, 2013.     You will be able to vote online or by telephone beginning at 12:01am ET on Sunday, April 7, 2013, until 3pm ET on Sunday April 14, 2013. Voting instructions will arrive with your PIN.     The Leader will be elected through a preferential ballot (meaning that you only vote once so you indicate all the candidates you support in order of preference on a single ballot) based on a points system that gives every riding in the country an equal voice. Click here to watch a video on the preferential vote and points system.

Step #3: Vote

Once you’re registered, you will receive a voting PIN between March 25 and April 6, 2013.  You will be able to vote online or by telephone starting at 12:01am ET on Sunday, April 7, 2013, until 3pm ET on Sunday April 14, 2013. Voting instructions will arrive with your PIN.

The Liberal Party Leader will be elected through a preferential ballot (meaning that you only vote once so you indicate all the candidates you support in order of preference on a single ballot) based on a points system that gives every riding in the country an equal voice.

Click here to watch their  video on the preferential vote and points system.

You won’t be able to vote if  you don’t register.

a horizontal border of red graphic maple leaves

Leave a Reply

